G!d’s garments

From Uziel Meizlish of Ostroha, Tiferet Uziel, Parshat Vayigash

 Judah approached him and said, “Please, my lord…”                                           וַיִּגַּשׁ אֵלָיו יְהוּדָה וַיֹּאמֶר בִּי אֲדֹנִי   Genesis 44:18

Judah means “praise” and “thanksgiving” (1), and this verse teaches us that when we approach G!d with our praise and thanksgiving, then G!d manifests Himself in us, as a person putting on a garment, for saying can also mean “dressing.” This is the meaning of in me, My L!rd [a literal translation of please, my lord]: when I pray I become a vehicle for G!d, who manifests in me within my throat [which speaks the words of prayer].

________________________________________________________________

1) YeHuDaH = HoDaYaH; see Genesis 29:35

Jeff says…

For some related teachings, click here and here. Here is the original text:

This entry was posted in Hasidic Masters, Parsha, Prayer, Uziel Meizlish/ Tiferes Uziel, Vayigash. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

